A Blog is Born

by Lee Louise

This is my blog. Let me say it again, it has such a lovely, proprietary ring to it — MY blog. The Lee Louise Etc. blog.

I am Lee Louise, knitter, crocheter, teacher. But it’s my than just me. My “Etc” includes my husband and daughters. For one thing, this post would never have been posted tonight (or any night) without the expertise of Tom, my computer engineer/family history expert husband. Who could have guessed that it would be so hard to start a simple little blog?

But even before the technical nightmare began tonight, I was influenced, no, not influenced. Coerced? Bullied? Harassed? by my daughters to begin. I remember driving Margaret home one afternoon, and talking about my desire to teach knitting classes and design knitwear. She spouted off a to-do list that I blithely agreed to, until she said “Start a blog, Mom, you HAVE to start a blog.” I very nearly dropped the whole idea like a hot potato. Me? A blog? You’ve got to be kidding.

Time has passed since that day. I have grown accustomed. Hillary has been instrumental in getting to start, not tomorrow, but tonight. Indeed, she has been nagging me. She is a painter and writer, and will post on this blog. Her current enthusiasm in hand dying silk scarves. Sarah will also post. She is a writer and poet, knitter and embroiderer, and to my way of thinking, she produces some of the best bad poetry I have ever heard. Margaret, a weaver, knitter, potter and artist, must also post occasionally (it’s all her fault, after all), as must Tom. *I has spoken*

Coincidentally, I have three other children as well, and 12 1/2 grandchildren, though they live far enough away that their participation in the blog  will not be required.

Leave a Reply

