I see dead plants

by Lee Louise

I love leaf lace:

Leaf lace

but I love living greenery even more. As a young mother, my home in Oregon was filled with live houseplants. Pothos. Wandering jew. Aloe. I watered. I divided and repotted. I talked to them. I sang for them. I loved those plants. They grew for me. They did not die. Unfortunately, when I look around me now, I see dead plants.

There’s the dead peace lily which lived about 6 years:

peace lily

and the dead hyacinth which lived about 6 weeks:

hydrangea

Often, as in the case of this dead rosemary tree (6 days), they don’t know they’re dead:

rosemary

How often do I see them? All the time. They’re everywhere.

 

Leave a Reply

